Social Studies

Welcome!

Welcome to the Ramapo-Indian Hills Regional High School District Social Studies Department.  The RIH District currently offers courses of study in World Civilizations, United States History 1 & 2, Anthropology, Economics, Geography, Law & Human Rights, Modern European History, Psychology, Sociology, and Sports History at a variety of academic levels.  We pride ourselves on offering a program that introduces students to a comparative study of past and contemporary global societies.  Additionally, students will develop skills in research and analysis of primary documents and interpretations of scholarly work.  Our teachers utilize best practices in their content areas and vary their assessment strategies to reflect their students’ ability to think critically and communicate effectively.  We encourage our students to analyze evidence, read closely to formulate opinions based on evidence and develop a spirit of inquiry and curiosity to guide them as they as they develop into engaged and thoughtful citizens.


Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world; indeed, it's the only thing that ever has.

‒Margaret Mead


Students interested in the Social Studies may enjoy participating in the following clubs and activities: Academic Decathlon, Amnesty International, Interact, Mock Trial, Model United Nations, Student Council


Students interested in our University Program in International Studies and Business should visit us here.

Subject Supervisor
Keely Leggour kleggour@rih.org voicemail extension: 3359

Social Studies Staff Members


Ms. Alyssa Durfee adurfee@rih.org voicemail extension: 6024

Ms. Angela Funk afunk@rih.org       voicemail extension: 6030

Mr. Ron Heusser rheusser@rih.org voicemail extension: 6036

Mr. Michael Ivanov mivanov@rih.org voicemail extension: 6189

Ms. Elizabeth Johnson ejohnson@rih.org voicemail extension: 6094

Ms. Christine Kamper ckamper@rih.org voicemail extension: 6182

Mr. Shannon Luke sluke@rih.org voicemail extension: 6022

Mr. Chris Mayer cmayer@rih.org voicemail extension: 6184

Mr. John Murphy jmurphy@rih.org voicemail extension: 5174

Mr. Michael Paravati mparavati@rih.org voicemail extension: 6197 Ms. Lauren Lewandowski Smalley llewandowski@rih.org voicemail extension: 6101

Ms. Ivy Urdang iurdang@rih.org voicemail extension: 6089