Mathematics

Collab

Welcome to the Indian Hills High School Mathematics Department Website!

The mathematics program at Indian Hills High School is designed to provide a strong foundation in mathematics for all students. Students develop skills throughout their program that are required in college mathematics courses. Those with advanced mathematical ability can take courses that move at a faster pace, explore concepts at a deeper level, and have the opportunity to partake in various Advanced Placement course offerings.

The teachers in the mathematics department are highly qualified to deliver a rigorous mathematics curriculum to their students.  Open-ended questions, real-life applications, modeling, and reasoning are emphasized, and students are challenged to develop their critical thinking and problem-solving skills.  Students are often given the opportunity to work collaboratively with each other to explore and reinforce concepts. 

Recommended Calculators:
Students in all Mathematics courses are strongly encouraged to have their own graphing calculator. The Mathematics Departments recommend Texas Instruments models TI 84 - TI 84 Plus calculators, as these will be used by all of our math teachers in class. The use of these calculators is permitted on the district, state, and national assessments including the PARCC, SAT, SAT Subject Tests, ACT, and Advanced Placement exams. Students will be using these tools in class and for assignments. Further, they will be utilized in their science classes, as well. In addition to high school math and science courses, they will be appropriate for undergraduate math and science courses at the college level.

Math and Computer Science Course Offerings – Please see Program of Studies

Computer Science program – as indicated in our Program of Studies, we offer Computer Science Honors, AP Computer Science A, and AP Computer Science Principles at our high school

Pathways- Several Mathematics courses are included in the Business/Computer Science Pathway Program- Please see the Pathways Section of the Program of Studies for more information. 

Extra help – extra help is provided by teachers after school.  Any student who has additional questions or would like extra practice is encouraged to see his or her teacher for extra help during this time.

Math Team - Our Math Team participates in both the Bergen County Math League and the New Jersey Math League.   Advisor:  Sarah Epstein.


Subject Supervisor
Amanda Zielenkievicz
azielenkievicz@rih.org 
(201) 337-0100 Ext. 3355

Math Teachers:

 Ken Bellottie kbellottie@rih.org 
Ext 6140
 Hanna Cantwell hcantwell@rih.org Ext. 6047
 Nicole Chermark nchermark@rih.org Ext. 6008
 Lauren Damstrom ldamstrom@rih.org Ext. 6150
 Jen Dinan jdinan@rih.org Ext. 6023
 Sarah Epstein sepstein@rih.org Ext. 6213
 Debora Greene dgreene@rih.org Ext. 6032
 Carly Hausch  chausch@rih.org Ext. 6044
 David Hesselgrave dhesselgrave@rih.org
 Danielle Maglietta dmaglietta@rih.org
Ext. 6147
 Sarah McGowan smcgowan@rih.org
Ext. 6231
 David Sherwood dsherwood@rih.org
 Cassandra Zalarick czalarick@rih.org

 

Puzzle